Remembering My Childhood Buddy/Hobby


My love of horses came at the tender age of 8. I was living in a small bario of Saliducon called Tibaol where my parents raised me. My lolo had a horse and gave me a foal as his Christmas gift for me. I named her Nacky Junior. Sound’s funny though. LOL!Whatever…! OK let’s be serious. Do you  want to know more about horseback riding? Alright, I’ll share you some hints.

  • BALANCED SEAT OR THE CORRECT POSTURE. Still makes all the difference in a safe, comfortable ride for both the horse and the rider. Riders not only learn the correct way to sit upon the horse, they also learn about horsemanship, etiquette and the overall terminology associated with riding a horse properly.When balanced seat riding is mastered, the rider will have exercised every muscle, tendon and ligament, from their head to their toes. Being a correctly balanced seat rider is equivalent to doing a triathlon.
  •  KEEP YOUR HEELS DOWN. Why? Because not only does it make you more secure, but it also stops your foot from being caught in the stirrup should the horse spook. Always ride in complete control. As with cars or bikes, the faster you go the faster things can go wrong.
  • PERSONALITY. Personalities play the main role when I put myself as rider and horse together. An outgoing person will usually be paired with an outgoing horse. The horse has to complete the rider, and the rider has to complete the horse. One is not more important than the other. It’s all about the safety of the pair. Personalities have to match. They need to be a good fit.

Riding for me has always been somewhat of a fantasy. It’s my way of catching dreams while leaving the rest of the world behind. ”It’s magical” Problems just seem to disappear. I miss those simple days of laughter, fun, and joy.  I miss my horse, I miss my childhood! I also miss my Lolo, he taught me everything I needed to know about horses. I owe it all to him.

Your comments and feedback are welcomed and appreciated! Hope you stay along for the journey! God Bless♀

