Day 34 – Your favorite kind of fruit


DURIAN FRUIT

Durian fruit is widely known and revered in Southeast Asia as the “KING OF FRUITS” the durian fruit is distinctive for its large size, unique odor, and formidable thorn-covered husk. The exceptional odor is strong and all-pervading even with the husk still intact. Because of this odor, to those who find this fruit sweet-scented, it is the king of fruit but to those who find the smell stinking, would call it hell. If you haven’t eaten durian, I suggest you don’t try very ripe durians at first. Go for durians that have firm flesh. ” Cob or Monthong”  is an excellent choice for the first time eaters as its smell is not that strong.

Durian could be found in some Southeast Asian countries such as  BruneiIndonesia and Malaysia but the one in Davao Philippines is really the best ever that I’ve tried. In Davao Philippines, durian fruit is also used to flavor candy, cakes, mousse, chips, ice cream and milkshakes. Eating durian for me is like ahhh… I’m in heaven. Oh yeah! Bear with me, I can eat the whole thing!

Durian fruit is delicious, soft, succulent and very popular for its unique characteristics. It is of such an excellent taste that it surpasses in flavor all the other fruits of the world. I think the best way to describe the taste of durian is that the consistency is like a cherimoya or if you’ve never tried cherimoyas, then it is similar to custard, and the flavor is like vanilla pudding, custard pudding with sweet yellow onion added to it. It is very creamy and rich, tastes like it’s something that would have lots of calories in it. I love the stuff, It’s an expensive addiction, but I love it!

14 comments on “Day 34 – Your favorite kind of fruit

    • Hi Annie, Thank you for stepping on my blog. Yes, that’s what all I’ve learned about durian for almost 5 years of living in Davao City Philippines.

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Urban | Nizy's Life Compendium

  2. Hi Nizy, thought I better check on over here and see how you were doing? I love this post. The fruit looks and sounds like it’s delicious, send me one so I can try it okay? 🙂 Penny

  3. Many years ago (I was married at that time, not now) my wife bought a fresh durian. We lived near Hong Kong. My father-in-law smelled it after we cut it open and said “Need to change the baby’s diaper!” That is how bad they smell, but they taste GREAT! They are my favorite fruit.

  4. Pingback: Durian- King of Fruits: Love Him or Leave Him | Jessica Eturralde

Your comments and feedback are welcomed and appreciated! Hope you stay along for the journey! God Bless♀

